Jurisdiction – staatsrecht.honikel.de

To content


Structure of the jurisdiction.



The jurisdiction is exercised by judges of the Federal Constitutional Court, by Federal courts and by courts of the Laender.

The different kinds of courts have usually three instances. The highest instance is a Federal court, the lower instances are in each case courts of the Laender.

top of page

Standard jurisdiction (Civilian and criminal courts)

District court / regional court (higher regional court) / Federal High Court

top of page

Special jurisdiction

Labour jurisdiction

Labor court / Higher Labor Court / Federal Labor Court

Administrative jurisdictionn

Administrative Court / Higher Administrative Court (VGH) / Federal Administrative Court

Social jurisdiction

Social court / National Social Court / Federal Social Court

Fiscal jurisdiction

Revenue court / Federal Finance Court

Furthermore the Federal Patents Court and Federal Discipline Court

top of page

Constitutional jurisdiction

Constitutional Courts of the Laender / Federal Constitutional Court

top of page