EU - Europe – staatsrecht.honikel.de

To content

Zusammenfassung:

The European Union (EU) gains more and more weight with the increasing european integration.

Content:

Organization form / Goals

The EU founded at 1. November 1993 is a union of 28 European states. It works on united Europe ("United States of Europe"). In united Europe all member states should enjoy advantages at political and economical level.

The European Union has own, however limited sovereignty powers (limits: Co-operation of the member states in the European Union legislation, subsidiarity), which had been transferred from the member states (see Article 23 GG). It is a so mentioned state group. This term is to clarify that the European union is not only a confederation of states, but also not a Federal State. The citizens of a member state are also citizens of the EU.

The Federal Republic of Germany is engaged in the European Union or its forerunner organizations since 1957.

Article 23 I

With a view to establishing a united Europe, the Federal Republic of Germany shall participate in the development of the European Union that is committed to democratic, social, and federal principles, to the rule of law, and to the principle of subsidiarity, and that guarantees a level of protection of basic rights essentially comparable to that afforded by this Basic Law. To this end the Federation may transfer sovereign powers by a law with the consent of the Bundesrat. The establishment of the European Union, as well as changes in its treaty foundations and comparable regulations that amend or supplement this Basic Law, or make such amendments or supplements possible, shall be subject to paragraphs (2) and (3) of Article 79.

top of page

Legal Bases

Legal bases of the European Union, the so-called primary community law, are the treaty on the European Community (Treaty of Maastricht) from 1992 and the treaty for the establishment of the European Community (EC Treaty , 1957) in the form arranged by the treaties of Maastricht and Amsterdam (1997).

The European Union has been developed from the European community for coal and steel (Coal and Steel Community), the European Atomic Energy Community (EAG) and the European Economic Community (EEC). These three communities, which were created in the 1950 years, form together the European Community (EC).

The European Union contains the EEC and supplements it with the components of the common foreign and security policy and co-operation in police and justice affairs.

Because the European Union does not possess a juridical personality, purely legally viewed the EC acts for the EU. This separation has however no practical meaning.

top of page

Poltics Ranges

In order to achieve the goal united Europe, the European Union becomes in particular active within the following three policies:

The part EC is executed by the organs of the European Union. The organs of the European Union are democratically legitimized either directly by election (European Parliament) or indirectly through their appointment through democratically legitimized organs of the member countries (for example Commission, Council).

The organs of the EU are identical with the organs of the EC, for example the Council of Ministers of the EU is at the same time the Council of Ministers of the EC.

The other two parts are executed through intergouvernmental cooperation of the member states.

top of page

The organs and institutions

European Parliament

785 members, 99 of them from Germany

Election of the European Paliament:

The European Parliament is elected directly by the citizens of the EU for 5 years. The citizens have the active and passive right to vote in the county in which they live. The election is an election on the base of proportional representation. Large states can divide their area into constituencies. Percent-hurdles up to 5% are allowed.

The members of the European Parliament in principle must not be members of a parliament of the member states at the same time.

Tasks: Legislation, together with the Council, whereby the emphasis is at the Council, installation of the Commission

top of page

Commission

30 members, 2 of them from Germany. The Commission is appointed by the state governments and confirmed by the European Parliament.

Tasks: Executive, "Keeper of the contracts", application of the clauses of the contracts, execution of the Council resolutions

top of page

Council of the European Union (Council of Ministers)

Regular meetings of the specialized Ministers (with imperative mandate)

Tasks: Legislation, central decision organ of the European Union, resolution of legal instruments of the European Union in co-operation with the parliament and because of suggestions of the commission

top of page

European Council

Regular meetings of the heads of state and the heads of the government, the ministers of foreign affairs as well as the president of the commission

Tasks: More politically "pulse generators", decisions of general principle

top of page

European Court of Justice

One judge from each member state, elected by the governments for 6 years

Task: Keeping of the right, continuation of the right by interpretation

top of page

European audit office

Task: Examination of the legal standard of the financial system

top of page

Legal instruments

Based on the European Union contracts the European Union has the following three means for the penetration of its political goals:

Regulation

A regulation is obligatory in all of its parts and applies directly in each member state.

top of page

Guideline

A guideline is obligatory in each member state, the individual states however have the choice, how they convert the guideline concretely.

top of page

Decision

A decision applies only to individual member states. In these however it is obligatory.

top of page

This in such a way specified "secondary Community law" proceeds in principle the German right, also the Basic Law. The legal protection for it takes place via the European Court of Justice.

If however the basic right standard given by the Basic Law is not kept, then also the Federal Constitutional Court can become active ("Solange II resolution" of the Federal Constitutional Court). But it is unlikely that this case become true.

top of page

Legislation process

The secondary Community law becomes effective through a cooperation between the Commission, the Parliament and the Council.

The legislative initiation has the Commission.

Dependent on the kind of the subject which should be regulated four different procedures can be separated:

Under the consultation procedure, the Parliament gives its opinion to a proposal of the Commission (1st reading). The Council, which finally decides, can accept the opinion or reject it. The main area covered by the consultation procedure is agriculture policy.

The cooperation procedure first works like the consultation procedure. But the Council could not decide immediately after the 1st reading but prepares a decision. To this decision proposal the Parliament gives its opinion (2nd reading) and the Commission gives its opinion. After that, the Council decides. Like at the consultation procedure the opinion of the Parliament could be accepted or rejected by the Council. The areas covered by the cooperation procedure are parts of the economic policy. The cooperation procedure is not very important any more.

The codecision based on the cooperation procedure. If a bill has been changed by the Parliament during the 2nd reading and the Council does not accept the changes, a conciliation committee composed of 15 members of the Coucil and 15 members of the Parliament is called.

If the conciliation committee does not find a compromise the bill fails to become a law, if the conciliation committee finds a compromise there is a 3td reading in the Parliament The Parliament can accept the compromise or reject it. In this case the bill fails. Today the codecision is the main legislation procedure of the EU.

In the assent procedure the Parliament has to assent a bill with absolute majority. This procedure is used for certain international agreements.

The Council decides either unanimous or with simple majority (every state has one vote) or with qualified majority (the votes per state depend on the size of the state), depending on the kind of subject.

top of page

top of page

EU - Europa – staatsrecht.honikel.de

Direkt zum Inhalt

Zusammenfassung:

Die Europäische Union (EU) gewinnt mit zunehmender europäischer Integration immer mehr an Bedeutung.

Inhalt:

Organisationsform / Ziel

Die EU ist ein am 1. November 1993 gegründeter Zusammenschluss von 28 europäischen Staaten. Sie arbeitet auf ein vereintes Europa hin („Vereinigte Staaten von Europa”). In einem vereinten Europa sollen alle Mitgliedsstaaten Vorteile auf politischer und wirtschaftlicher Ebene genießen.

Die EU hat eigene, begrenzte Hoheitsbefugnisse (Grenzen: Mitwirkung der Einzelstaaten bei der EU-Gesetzgebung, Subsidiarität). Diese Befugnisse wurden von den Mitgliedstaaten übertragen (von Deutschland durch Artikel 23 GG).

Sie ist ein so genannter Staatenverbund. Dieser Begriff soll verdeutlichen, dass es sich bei der europäischen Union nicht nur um einen Staatenbund, aber auch nicht um einen Bundesstaat handelt. Die Staatsbürger eines Mitgliedsstaates sind gleichzeitig Unionsbürger.

Die Bundesrepublik Deutschland ist seit 1957 in der EU bzw. deren Vorläuferorganisationen engagiert.

Artikel 23 I

Zur Verwirklichung eines vereinten Europas wirkt die Bundesrepublik Deutschland bei der Entwicklung der Europäischen Union mit, die demokratischen, rechtsstaatlichen, sozialen und föderativen Grundsätzen und dem Grundsatz der Subsidiarität verpflichtet ist und einen diesem Grundgesetz im wesentlichen vergleichbaren Grundrechtsschutz gewährleistet. Der Bund kann hierzu durch Gesetz mit Zustimmung des Bundesrates Hoheitsrechte übertragen. Für die Begründung der Europäischen Union sowie für Änderungen ihrer vertraglichen Grundlagen und vergleichbare Regelungen, durch die dieses Grundgesetz seinem Inhalt nach geändert oder ergänzt wird oder solche Änderungen oder Ergänzungen ermöglicht werden, gilt Artikel 79 Absatz 2 und 3.

Zum Seitenanfang

Rechtliche Grundlagen

Rechtliche Grundlagen der EU, das so genannte primäre Gemeinschaftsrecht, sind der Vertrag von Lissabon, der am 1. Dezember 2009 in Kraft trat, sowie seine Vorläufer, wie zum Beispiel der Vertrag über die Europäische Gemeinschaft  (Vertrag von Maastricht) von 1992 und der Vertrag zur Gründung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft (EG-Vertrag, 1957) in der durch die Verträge von Maastricht und Amsterdam (1997) gestalteten Form.

Die EU ist aus der Europäischen Gemeinschaft für Kohle und Stahl (Montanunion), der Europäischen Atomgemeinschaft (EAG) und der Europäischen Wirtschaftsgemeinschaft hervorgegangen (EWG). Diese drei Gemeinschaften, die in den 1950 Jahren gegründet wurden bilden zusammen die Europäische Gemeinschaft (EG).

Die EU beinhaltet die EG und ergänzt diese um die Komponenten der gemeinsamen Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik (GASP) und der polizeilichen und justiziellen Zusammenarbeit.

Da die EU selbst keine Rechtspersönlichkeit besitzt, wird rein rechtlich betrachtet die EG tätig. Diese Trennung hat jedoch keine praktische Bedeutung.

Zum Seitenanfang

Politikbereiche

Um das Ziel eines vereinten Europas zu erreichen, wird die EU in den folgenden drei Politikbereichen tätig:

Der Bereich der Europäischen Gemeinschaften wird von den Organen der EU ausgeführt. Die Organe der EU werden entweder direkt durch Wahl demokratisch legitimiert (Europaparlament) oder indirekt über ihre Ernennung durch demokratisch legitimierte Organe der Mitgliedsländer (zum Beispiel Kommission, Ministerrat).

Die Organe der EU sind identisch mit den Organen der EG, zum Beispiel ist der Ministerrat der EU gleichzeitig der Ministerrat der EG.

Die beiden anderen Bereiche werden durch Zusammenarbeit der Mitgliedstaaten auf Regierungsebene ausgeführt.

Zum Seitenanfang

Die Organe und Institutionen

Europaparlament

785 Mitglieder, davon 99 aus Deutschland

Wahl des Europaparlaments (Europawahl):

Das Europaparlament wird direkt von den EU-Bürgern für 5 Jahre gewählt, wobei die Bürger das aktive und passive Wahlrecht in dem Land, in dem sie ihren Wohnsitz haben, besitzen. Es wird nach dem Verhältniswahlrecht gewählt. Die großen Staaten der EU können ihr Gebiet in Wahlkreise aufteilen, Prozent-Hürden bis zu 5 % sind erlaubt.

Die Abgeordneten des Europaparlaments dürfen grundsätzlich nicht gleichzeitig einem nationalen Parlament angehören.

Aufgaben: Legislative zusammen mit dem Ministerrat und der Kommission, wobei das Schwergewicht beim Ministerrat liegt, Einsetzung der Kommission

Zum Seitenanfang

Kommission

30 Mitglieder, davon 2 aus Deutschland. Die Kommission wird durch die Regierungen der Mitgliedsstaaten ernannt und vom Europaparlament bestätigt.

Aufgaben: Exekutive, „Hüterin der Verträge”, Anwendung der Vertragsbestimmungen, Durchführung der Ministerratsbeschlüsse

Zum Seitenanfang

Ministerrat (Rat der EU)

Regelmäßige Treffen der Fachminister (mit imperativem Mandat)

Aufgaben: Legislative, zentrales Entscheidungsorgan der EU, Beschluss von Rechtsakten der EU in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Parlament und auf Vorschlag der Kommission

Zum Seitenanfang

Europäischer Rat

Regelmäßige Treffen der Staats- und Regierungschefs, der Außenminister sowie des Präsidenten der Kommission

Aufgaben: Politischer „Impulsgeber”, Treffen von Grundsatzentscheidungen

Zum Seitenanfang

Europäischer Gerichtshof

Ein Richter aus jedem EU-Staat, von den Regierungen der Mitgliedsstaaten für 6 Jahre gewählt

Aufgabe: Wahrung des Rechts, Fortführung des Rechts durch Auslegung

Zum Seitenanfang

Europäischer Rechnungshof

Aufgabe: Prüfung der Rechtmäßigkeit der Finanzwirtschaft

Zum Seitenanfang

Rechtsakte

Basierend auf den EU-Verträgen hat die EU folgende drei Mittel zur Durchsetzung ihrer politischen Ziele:

Verordnung

Eine Verordnung ist in allen ihren Teilen verbindlich und gilt unmittelbar in jedem Mitgliedsstaat.

Zum Seitenanfang

Richtlinie

Eine Richtlinie ist zwar für jeden Mitgliedstaat verbindlich, die einzelnen Staaten haben jedoch die Wahl, wie sie die Richtlinie konkret umsetzen.

Zum Seitenanfang

Entscheidung

Eine Entscheidung gilt nur für einzelne Mitgliedstaaten. In diesen ist sie jedoch verbindlich.

Zum Seitenanfang

Dieses so genannte „sekundäre Gemeinschaftsrecht” geht grundsätzlich dem deutschen Recht, auch dem Grundgesetz, vor. Der Rechtsschutz dafür erfolgt grundsätzlich durch den Europäischen Gerichtshof.

Wenn allerdings der vom Grundgesetz vorgegebene Grundrechtsstandard nicht eingehalten werden sollte, dann könnte auch das Bundesverfassungsgericht tätig werden („Solange II-Beschluss” des Bundesverfassungsgerichts).

Zum Seitenanfang

Rechtsetzungsverfahren

Das sekundäre Gemeinschaftsrecht wird gemeinsam von der Europäischen Kommission, dem Europaparlament und dem Rat der EU erlassen.

Die Gesetzesinitiative liegt bei der Europäischen Kommission.

Abhängig von der Art der zu regelnden Materie werden vier verschiedene Verfahren unterschieden:

Beim Anhörungsverfahren nimmt das Europaparlament zu einem Gesetzesvorschlag der Kommission Stellung (1. Lesung) . Diese Stellungnahme kann der Rat der EU, der endgültig beschließt berücksichtigen, er kann sie aber auch übergehen. Das Anhörungsverfahren wird insbesondere im Bereich der Agrarpolitik durchgeführt.

Das Zusammenarbeitsverfahren funktioniert zunächst analog zum Anhörungsverfahren. Der Rat der EU kann hier jedoch nicht sofort beschließen, sondern bereitet einen Beschluss vor, der nochmals im Europaparlament (2. Lesung) und in der Kommission behandelt wird und erst danach vom Rat der EU beschlossen werden kann. Auch bei diesem Verfahren müssen die Wünsche des Europaparlaments nicht zwingend berücksichtigt werden. Das Zusammenarbeitsverfahren wird in Teilbereichen der Wirtschaftspolitik durchgeführt und spielt im Gegensatz zu früher keine große Rolle mehr.

Das Mitentscheidungsverfahren baut auf dem Zusammenarbeitsverfahren auf. Wenn ein Gesetzesentwurf in der 2. Lesung vom Europaparlament geändert wird und der Rat der EU mit den Änderungen nicht einverstanden ist, muss ein Vermittlungsausschuss, der aus 15 Ratsmitgliedern und der gleichen Anzahl Abgeordneter des Europaparlaments besteht zusammentreten.

Wird im Vermittlungsausschuss kein Kompromiss gefunden, ist der Gesetzesentwurf gescheitert, wird ein Kompromiss gefunden, findet eine 3. Lesung im Parlament statt, in der der Kompromiss angenommen oder abgelehnt werden kann. Das Mitentscheidungsverfahren ist aktuell das Standardverfahren.

Überblick über das Mitentscheidungsverfahren:

Mitentscheidungsverfahren
Schaubild „Mitentscheidungsverfahren” vergrößern

Beim Zustimmungsverfahren muss das Europaparlament mit absoluter Mehrheit einem Gesetzesentwurf zustimmen. Dieses Verfahren wird beim Abschluss wichtiger internationaler Abkommen angewandt.

Die Entscheidung im Rat wird abhängig von der zu regelnden Materie entweder einstimmig, mit einfacher Mehrheit (jeder Staat hat eine Stimme) oder mit qualifizierter Mehrheit (die Stimmenanzahl pro Staat variiert abhängig von der Größe des Staates) getroffen.

Zum Seitenanfang

Zum Seitenanfang